Richard L. D. Morse Applied Consumer Economics Award - Professional Paper

This award is given for a paper that addresses practical and everyday problems that consumers face. Competitive papers for the Morse ACE Award must have three components: (1) identification of an important consumer problem or issue, (2) articulation of practical solutions to the problem, (3) a well-written, scholarly paper, and (4) strong, convincing communication of the implications of the findings that have immediate usefulness to consumers, consumer professionals, or policy makers. This award honors the legacy of Richard L. D. Morse, a prominent leader in the consumer movement and Kansas State University professor. Known as “Mr. Truth in Savings,” Dr. Morse established the Consumer Movement Archives (CMA) at Kansas State University Libraries. CMA is the premiere research collection documenting consumer advocacy in the United States. The award is generously funded by the Morse Consumer Movement Archives Endowment through the Kansas State University Foundation.

Award Winners

  • 2022 - Sun Young Ahn, University of Puget Sound; Wookjae Heo, Purdue University
  • 2021 - Zachary Morris, Stony Brook University; Stephen McGarity, University of Tennessee; Nanette Goodman, Center for Inclusive Policy; Asghar Zaidi, Government College University, Lahore
  • 2020 - Jesse Jurgenson, University of Maryland
  • 2019 - Jodi Letkiewicz, York University
  • 2018 - Hua Zan, University of Hawaii at Manoa; Su Hyun Shin, University of Alabama
  • 2017 - Yilan Xu and Minhong Xu, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • 2016 - Sherrie Rhine and Joyce Northwood, Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC)
  • 2015 - Yunhee Chang and Melissa Perry, University of Mississippi
  • 2014 - Hua Zan, University of Missouri; Robert Scharff, Ohio State University
  • 2013 - Martie Gillen, University of Florida; Jason D. Hans, University of Kentucky
  • 2011 - Nicholas Carr and John Grable, Kansas State University
  • 2010 - Jeff Sovern, St. John's University School of Law
  • 2009 - Sahara Byrne, Alan Mathios, and Rosemary Avery, Cornell University
  • 2008 - Yunhee Chang, University of Mississippi; Elizabeth Powers and Andrea Beller, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • 2006 - Jeanne Hogarth, Marianne Hilgert, and Jonathan Kivell, Federal Reserve Board
  • 2005 - Jane Kolodinsky, University of Vermont
  • 1998 - Jinkook Lee, University of Tennessee; Jeanne M. Hogarth, Federal Reserve Board
  • 1997 - Monroe Friedman, Eastern Michigan University
  • 1996 - Michael Waldon, North Carolina University
  • 1995 - Michael Waldon, North Carolina University
  • 1993 - Marlene S. Stum, Jean W. Bauer and Paula J. Delaney, University of Minnesota
  • 1991 - Monroe Friedman, Easterm Michigan University
  • 1990 - Kathryn D. Rettig, Donna Hendrickson Christensen and Carla M. Dahl, University of Minnesota
  • 1989 - Sherman Hanna, Ohio State University
  • 1988 - Drew Hyman, Pennsylvannia State University
  • 1987 - Carol S. Kramer, Cornell University