Consumer Movement Archives Applied Consumer Economics Award - Student Paper

This award is given for a paper that addresses practical and everyday problems that consumers face. Competitive papers for the CMA ACE Award must have three components: (1) identification of an important consumer problem or issue, (2) articulation of practical solutions to the problem, (3) a well-written scholarly paper, and (4) strong, convincing communication of the implications of the findings that have immediate usefulness to consumers, consumer professionals, or policy makers. This award honors the legacy of Richard L. D. Morse, a prominent leader in the consumer movement and Kansas State University professor. Known as "Mr. Truth in Savings," Dr. Morse established the Consumer Movement Archives (CMA) at Kansas State University Libraries. CMA is the premiere research collection documenting consumer advocacy in the United States. The award is generously funded by the Morse Consumer Movement Archives Endowment through the Kansas State University Foundation. (Please note, the student does not have to be the sole author, but must be the lead author.)

Award Winners

  • 2022 - Zongze Li, University of Georgia
  • 2021 - Madeline Reed, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • 2020 - Guangyi (Nancy) Wang, Ohio State University
  • 2019 - Guangyi (Nancy) Wang, Lauren Jones, and Tansel Yilmazer, Ohio State University
  • 2018 - Guopeng (Kevin) Cheng and Rui Yao, University of Missouri
  • 2017 - Kathryn A. Carroll, University of Wisconsin-Madison