Distinguished Fellow Award

In 1972 the ACCI Board established the Distinguished Fellows Award. The purpose of this award was to honor an individual who has made significant contributions to ACCI over a long period of time and is widely recognized as a leader in the consumer field. This person is further recognized as one who has displayed high standards of professional and ethical conduct through her/his career.

List of Awards and Year

  • 2022: Irene Leech, Virginia Tech
  • 2020 presented in 2021: George and Deborah Haynes, Montana State University, and Thomas M. Brooks (posthumously), Southern Illinois University
  • 2017: Jane Kolodinsky, University of Vermont, and Theresa Mauldin, University of Georgia
  • 2016: Elizabeth M. Dolan
  • 2015: Sharon DeVaney, Purdue University
  • 2013: Richard Widdows, Purdue University
  • 2012: Cathleen Zick, University of Utah, Cynthia Needles Fletcher, Iowa State University, and Claudia J. Heath, University of Kentucky
  • 2009: Brenda Cude, University of Georgia
  • 2007: Sherman Hanna, The Ohio State University and Julia Marlowe, University of Georgia
  • 2006: Jeanne Hogarth, Federal Reserve Board
  • 2004: Robert Mayer, University of Utah and Jane Schuchardt, CSREES, USDA
  • 2002: John Burton, University of Utah and Robin Douthitt, University of Wisconsin
  • 1999: Mohamed Abdel Ghany, The University of Alabama
  • 1997: Jean Kinsey, University of Minnesota and W. Keith Bryant, Cornell University
  • 1996: Loren V. Geistfeld, The Ohio State University
  • 1995: E. Thomas Garman, Virginia Tech
  • 1994: Carole Makela, Colorado State University
  • 1993: E. Scott Maynes, Cornell University
  • 1992: Karen P. Goebel, University of Wisconsin
  • 1991: Monroe Friedman, Eastern Michigan University
  • 1986: Robert O. Herrmann
  • 1984: Jean Bowers, Marjorie Merchant, Carole Vickers
  • 1982: Gordon Bivens, Edward Metzen
  • 1980: Robert McEwen, Richard Morse
  • 1978: Marguerite Burk, Ramon Heimerl, Helen Nelson
  • 1977: Gladys Bahr, Persia Campbell, Stewart M. Lee, Louise Young
  • 1973: Leland Gordon, Henry Harap, Ray Price, Arch Troelstrup, Colston E. Warne