Richard L. D. Morse Early-Career Award

The Richard L. D. Morse Early-Career Awardee has demonstrated excellent in research, education, and/or policy. The recipient will have provided service, defined as contributions that further consumer interests including service to ACCI as a professional organization, forging collaborations with colleagues and groups, and contributing to the consumers’ interest as a field of study and practice. Additionally, the Early-Career Award winner has six or fewer years of full-time professional employment in a field related to consumer interests. This award honors the legacy of Richard L. D. Morse, a prominent leader in the consumer movement and Kansas State University professor. Known as "Mr. Truth in Savings," Dr. Morse established the Consumer Movement Archives (CMA) at Kansas State University Libraries. CMA is the premiere research collection documenting consumer advocacy in the United States. The award is generously funded by the Morse Consumer Movement Archives Endowment through the Kansas State University Foundation.

Awards Winners

    • 2022 - Lu Fan, University of Georgia
    • 2021 - Travis Mountain, Virginia Tech
    • 2019 - Kyoung Tae (KT) Kim, University of Alabama
    • 2018 - Martin Seay, Kansas State University
    • 2017 - Melissa Wilmarth, University of Alabama