National Endowment for Financial Education (NEFE) Paper Award

The National Endowment for Financial Education (NEFE) is the leading private nonprofit 501(c)(3) national foundation dedicated to inspiring empowered financial decision making for individuals and families through every stage of life. With more than a quarter-century of dedication to the public good, NEFE continues its legacy of service with commitment to providing financial education and practical information to people at all financial levels, including:

    • Youth and adult financial education resources,
    • Training tools from the classroom to the workplace, and
    • Research and consumer surveys
The amount of the Award is $500 and a recognition plaque. The Awardee and ACCI will be featured in the NEFE digest publication, distributed to a mailing list of about 6,000, including many extension agents.
The content focus of the paper is financial education and the criteria by which the paper will be evaluated will demonstrate that the paper:
  • Makes a contribution to the scientific knowledge of financial education, financial behavior, or financial capability;
  • Utilizes rigorous methodology as recognized by peers and the discipline;
  • Is theoretically grounded;
  • Addresses a research gap in the discipline; and
  • Is an original manuscript not under review by another publication or group while being considered by ACCI.

Award Winners

    • 2022:
      • Melody Harvey, University of Wisconsin-Madison
    • 2021:
      • Yu (Yulia) Zhang, University of Georgia
      • Lu Fan, University of Missouri - Columbia
    • 2020:
      • Yingying Zeng, Washington University in St. Louis
      • Mathieu Despard, University of North Carolina Greensboro
      • Sophia Fox-Dichter, Washington University in St. Louis
    • 2019: 
      • Stephen Atlas, University of Rhode Island
      • Jing Jian Xaio, University of Rhode Island
      • Nilton Porto, University of Rhode Island
      • Michael J. Weir, University of Rhode Island
    • 2018:
      • Melody Harvey, Pardee RAND Graduate School
      • Jeremy Burke, University of Southern California
      • Joyce Serido, University of Minnesota
      • Soyeon Shim, University of Wisconsin-Madison
    • 2017:
      • Lu Fan, University of Georgia
      • Swarn Chatterjee, University of Georgia
    • 2016:
      • Jing Jian Xiao, University of Rhode Island
      • Nilton Porto, University of Rhode Island
    • 2015:
      • Cliff Robb, Kansas State University
      • Richard Stebbins, Kansas State University
      • Lloyd Zimmerman, Kansas State University
    • 2014:
      • Jody Letkiewicz, York University
      • Stuart J. Heckman, Ohio State University
      • HanNa Lim, Ohio State University